Today children are spending much more time watching TV compared to the past. Why do you think this happens? Is this a positive or a negative change?

Watching TV is one of youth's most enjoyable hobby when they are indoors. Nowadays, some people consider that unlike in the past, the tendency of spending long periods of time following their favourite tv shows has increased substantially, mainly due to an enormous diversity and the ability to select which one they prefer. I believe that with supervision, this can have a positive impact on them. When it comes to watching television, the main reason would be the variety of programs such as cartoons. There are channels that emit 24 hours per day continuously different cartoons for the younger generation. This can keep a child in front of the screen for long periods of time as they enjoy their favourite characters in different scenarios. Cartoon Network, for instance, is broadcasting every single day of the week without any interruptions, because of this, the number of viewers has been increasing every year. This can have a detrimental impact on toddler's health, sleeping routine and social skills as they would not spend time outdoors. Clearly, tv programs such as this one should be regulated and broadcast interruptions should occur at set times each day. If children are supervised while watching, this can benefit them. Although watching some programs can bring disadvantages, some programs in a different language can help one to learn new words and later to have the ability to become bilingual. In Romania, for example, children have been watching most of the tv programs in English for the last twenty years. This not only allowed them to be fluent in English as they grew up but also to build up an advantage over those ones that did not. This can help them later in life if they would choose to live abroad. In other words, with supervision, benefits will arise. In conclusion, even though the time spent by children watching TV will continue to rise, I think that with enough supervision good results can be achieved.