Some people think governments should spend money on measures to save languages with few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of money of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are conflicting views regarding whether some neglected languages with minor speakers should be protected and maintained or not. This essay will discuss both views, followed by my own perspectives. The individuals who advocate harnessing fundraise more efficiently may have following ideas. Undeniably, the protection of these languages would involve complex processes ranging from setting up some language classes and recruiting some teachers or experts mastering this languages, which could lead to a enormous financial burden on charitable organizations or local authority. Unfortunately, with dramatically high input, it is tricky for us to see some extraordinary breakthroughs in economy or other aspects from protecting these historian and cultural treasures. Therefore, protecting these languages is unnecessary. However, the people who are highlighting the significance of reserving these endangered languages may also have the persuasive thinking. Firstly, these languages are inextricably bound up with local minorities’ values, beliefs and history. These people may become disillusioned with finding that their languages featuring their cultures are gradually dying out, which would decrease their sense of belongings of nation, leading to conflicts with other ethnicity. This trend could develop into the dissociation of nation in the end. Besides, maintaining these exotic languages could also appeal many linguists who want to learn more about these languages to visit particular regions boasting these linguistic elements, which will then drive the demand of local accommodation or food, increasing the employment rate and incomes of natives, developing local economy as a whole. As discussed above, we are not oblivious to the importance of these languages and thus are supposed to protect them for they will both strengthen our nation’s stability and economy. That is why China, a country with more than 5000 years history, spend a great deal of money every year to preserve meaningful folkways including these languages.