Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

A section of the society claims that government funds should be allocated to public services as we follow the taxation system,while the others think they should be invested in arts such as music and theatres.I partially agree with both views as both aspects are valuable,priceless and treasured in our society. There are several reasons for spending a significant amount of the government budget on public services. First and foremost services such as hospitals,roads and schools determine the quality of life in several societies. For instance,if legislative bodies do not spend funds on medical infrastructure,the health of the society may decline., Similarly if money is not allocated to schools,our children may not be properly educated. Hence investment toward such civil services would result in the growth of an individual and community. On the other hand,the contributions of artists to our society are very essential.Art also entertains us through various platforms such as movies,songs and paintings.Art can bring out people’s creativity and personalities hence it should not be neglected nor underestimated.It would be difficult for some institutions to generate profit and without the help of administration such sectors may have to lock their doors.Many people do feel positive and energetic in going to see music and theatre performance so it is mandatory for the regime to assist such institutions so that they can continue to cater entertainment to the public. To conclude,there are clear benefits in investing in both parties.The authorities should balance their spending between these two sectors so public services operate smoothly and at the same time the cultural diversity and uniqueness in the environment are maintained.