During holidays or weekends, young people spend less time on outdoor activities in the nature environment, such as hiking and mountain climbing. Why? What can be done to encourage them to go out?

Though, a lot of people prefer to spend their leisure time in the countryside, but few of them are interested in activities as hiking or mountain climbing. What is the problem? It is obvious, that kind of activities demand to have corresponding physical conditions, but nowadays society does not care about it as much as required. Օne of the most common and effective ways to raise people ’s awareness about the importance of physical activity in the nature environment. Hiking and mountain climbing are such type of activities that are less preferable than others, because they take too much energy and time. A person should be physically healthy and strong to be able to walk about five hours continually or have strong enough arms to climb mountains. As many people after forty are physically weak, the number of interested people in such kind hobbies are less. As a matter of fact, a survey on how and where people prefer to spend their weekends was held in Armenia and was found seventy per cent tochoose spend leisure time in cafes and city hotels than a day in nature. Society less informed about advantages that be gained spending time in wild nature. So, making some informational tours and practical lessons about hiking and climbing will raise the interest. Moreover, this approach will make an image about activities as they are not so widespread. On my own example, a year ago I read in the newspaper about a climbing tour to the Aragact and I participated in it to satisfy my interest, so after that day I found a new incredible interesting hobby for me. Accordingly, outdoor activities such as hiking and mountain claiming are less popular as not everyone is able to do it, therefore raising informational awareness about positive aspects can arise interest in them.