Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

A section of the society claims that government funds should be allocated on public services as these are obtained through the taxation system, while others think they should be invested in arts such as music and theatre. I partially agree with both the views as both the aspects are valuable, priceless and irreplaceable in our society. There are several reasons for spending significant amount of government budget on public services. First and foremost, services such as hospitals, roads and schools determine the quality of life in several societies. For instance, if legislative bodies do not spend funds on medical infrastructure, the health of a society may decline. Similarly, if money is not allocated to educational institutions, our children may not be properly educated/earn enough knowledge. Hence, investment toward such civil services would result in growth of an individual and community. On the other hand, contributions of artists to our society are very essential. Art also entertains us through various platforms such as movies,songs and paintings. This sector can bring out people’s creativity and thus it should not be neglected or underestimated. It would be difficult for some institutions to generate profit and without help of various administrations they may have to shut down. Many people feel positive and energetic whenever they listen to music and watch live shows in theatre. As a result, it is mandatory for different regimes to assist such insititutions so that they can continue to cater entertainment to the public. To conclude, I would like to add that there are clear benefits in investing towards both the segments. The authorities should balance disbursement of funds between these two sectors so public services operate smoothly and at the same time the cultural diversity and uniqueness of various civilisations is maintained.