Today, more and more students are deciding to move to a different country for higher studies. Do you think that the benefits of this outweigh the problems?

Nowadays, an increasing number of learners prefer to study aboard. Although studying overseas has some drawbacks, the advantages it brings regarding academic and personal development are obvious and immense. There are a few disadvantages to studying overseas that each student must carefully consider before moving to a different country. First, it is expensive and sometimes really tough for the middle class. That is to say that the overall living cost is considerably higher compared to the home country. Second, communication is another major hurdle for most students studying in another country. In most cases, students cannot communicate effectively with teachers, peers and the locals. This may lead them to anxiety, frustration and homesickness. I can recall my friend Ruhan as an example. The cultural barrier made him feel lonesome and homesick when he first landed in the UK for higher studies. In contrast, studying abroad opens up new horizons for students and develop a deeper understanding of diverse cultures. Foreign universities have advanced teaching materials and methods, which make learning easier for students. Besides, students are exposed to different cultures. They can discover different lifestyles and social norms, which in turn broaden their perspective. In addition, with the proper cultural context, students can learn a second language accurately and quickly. This by consequence offers a competitive edge over their counterparts. For example, my elder brother is doing a job in a transnational company based in Spain. The company has selected him due to his foreign degree and better skills in the Spanish language. It is usually considered that the employee with a foreign degree is motivated to embrace any challenge and able to adapt to diverse cultures. To conclude, students learn better in a foreign university and develop faster as a professional and an individual. Despite some drawbacks, studying overseas offers a myriad of benefits and it is expected that renowned universities will attract more foreign students in the coming days.