Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people while others believe that the purpose of museum is to educate. Discuss both views and give you own opinion.

A museum is considered the temple of our culture and history.Many argue that a museum is an institute proposed solely for educational needs,while some think it should be more entertaining to attract visitors.To my way of thinking,an ideal museum should be both informative and interesting.In this essay, I am going to discuss both views and state my opinion. Some people believe that like any other leisure activities museum visit also must be fun. Moreover, they are not much interested in the academic details of the artefacts on display.The general public who are the major proportion of the visitors may not understand the historical importance of the museums.There are some measures that can be taken to make sure their involvement while they visit the exhibitions. For example,one of the museums in Kerala now started to provide audio-visual aids which can explain the features of the displayed items in many languages.They are also showing documentary films in relation to the history of exhibits.These kinds of activities help to improve people's attentiveness towards the museum trip. However,many visitors including archaeology students and history aspirants search for the information they need for their profession.Especially for,the fun activities are not very critical.The provided historical data and characteristics of a pre-historic tool or fossil are their areas of concern.For instance, they already know many simple details explained by a guide or an A-V aid.These people only care about the facts and figures for their studies or projects. In conclusion,the role of the museum for a person depends on the purpose of the visitor.In my opinion,a model museum must indeed provide educational and leisure options.So people from all walks of life can visit museums.