You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

Some companies have a policy that requires their employees to dress formally when going to work. However, I think it does not matter what the employees wear, as long as they can get their job done well. Mostly, when we look at the people working for a big corporation, they are wearing a suit and tie to work. By dressing like this, they could easily gain a good first impression, especially trust from other people. For instance, a salesman working for a big company dealing with important clients have to appear that he can be trusted. If he is not neat, then the clients will wonder if this man is legitimate and if he can do his job well. If this happens, the company may lose potential clients and their reputation might be at stake too. In contrast, nowadays many modern organisations do not care about their employees appearance, they can wear whatever they want. The management only focuses on the performance of the staff member, therefore they do not pay much attention to such details. Hence they can direct their energy to more important things and achieve a greater result. Besides, people nowadays are more used to seeing casually dressed employees in a big company. For example, Mark Zuckerberg usually only wear a T-shirt, and we always see Steve Jobs in his turtleneck, but people still believe the product they sell because the quality of engineering behind it. In conclusion, work apparel is not an important factor in a company. As long as the quality of work the employees deliver is high, they can still reach their goals and thrive.