Some people think that strict punishments for driving offenses are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there is a dramatic upsurge in the number of roadway mishaps. While there are those who reckon that rigorous punishments for such offences would prove more efficacious, others argue that there is a multitude of other important aspects to mitigate this problem. This essay will discuss why imposing corporal punishment is very imperative but why improving roadway safety features is also necessary. To begin with, punishing individuals with thick fines or maybe jail sentence in worse scenarios will be a building block to eradicate the disaster completely. This will develop a sense of responsibility among drivers to be more vigilant during driving instead of speeding or distracted driving. Moreover, people will be more focused rather than multitasking during driving as such punishments will create a fear in their mind. To clarify, a study by the University of West London depicts that, there is a down surge in the number of roadway disaster soon after the Government announced a heavy penalty system for drivers using mobile phones or not wearing seat belts during driving. Therefore, it is evident that severe punishments will prove beneficial to reduce roadway hazards. However, there are countries that are following such strict measures of ceasing and banning a drivers license, monetary fines or imprisonment in some cases for many years and yet there is no change in the number of accidents. There are a number of road casualties due to the bumpy roadway, potholes or maybe insufficient space due to narrow roads. This is why it is equally important to have wide roads and good fracture. To elucidate, India has reported over 13000 accidental cases last year owing to potholes and congested roads. This is why it is equally important to have nice wide roads in place to avoid disaster. In conclusion, roadway incidents have been increasing dramatically during the last decade. Although, strict traffic rules and regulations control roadway disaster, having a good wide roadway is also important. This essay discussed why both imposing corporal punishment as well as improving roadway safety features are necessary measures.