Some people think that cultural traditions will be destroyed when they are used as money-making machines aimed at tourists. Others believe it is the only way to save such traditions in the world today. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Cultural heritages play a vitally important role in countries’ development. Some people argue that making cultural sites as a part of tourism will cause damages to these sites. However, others claim that this is the only method to preserve these cultural traditions and I totally agree with them. On one hand, it is reasonable for the public think that the more tourists visit historical places, the more damage they may bring. To be more specific, we must admit that not every visitor is responsible for taking caution when they are visiting famous sites and some of them even destroy them on purpose. Taking a Chinese style wood cabin in Beijing as an example, tons of visitors pay the entrance fee to see the extraordinary structure and valuable wood of it. However, as more and more people are stepping on the stairs and ground of this cabin, which leads to irreversible damage to it due to the exceptional wood and high repair cost. Therefore, using cultural traditions as attractions for tourism bring about negative and detrimental effects on them. On the other hand, I strongly agree that the historical and cultural places should be an attractive part of travelling, which provides benefits for culture spreading in this world. It is undeniable that numerous cultural activities and locations, such as the languages in minorities and traditional villages, are becoming trivial for contemporary people. By visiting these places during travelling, people will get a better understanding of the culture and history of the country, which presents an excellent way to protect and preserve them. Moreover, making cultural heritages famous touristic attractions supports better maintenance. By raising a large amount of money from tourism, the government is able to pay the extremely high maintenance fee and even employ updated technology to keep a good condition of traditional sites. In conclusion, although many people hold the view that tourists will induce great damage to cultural traditions, I insist that this is the only effective way to preserve them. By known by more people, these attractions can be valued as an indispensable element of the country. Besides, they can receive good maintenance, which promotes their existence and protection in the long run.