Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is an opinion that computers are the most significant human innovation in the century. I totally agree with the statement and I think that computers have a tremendous impact on our development and they were exactly that invention which provides a boost to the economy in the twentieth century. First of all, computers led to the transition to a new economic system from the industrial economy to the knowledge economy, the development stage also called information society. For example, computers created an absolutely new environment for work and study, and it is hard to imagine a modern company or university without using standard tools for writing, computation, and presentation. Moreover, a new field of study such as computer science emerged due to this important invention, and they are a lot of spillover effects to other scientific fields and industries. Secondly, computers broadened equal opportunities for studying and improving literacy. For instance, through distant learning people from remote regions get the opportunity to learn something new, as well as people from developing and poor countries achieve access to education that cannot be provided in their countries. Finally, computers make our lives more effective and help us save precious time. Without a doubt, today computer devices in different forms have fully penetrated people's lives and become a necessary item that is difficult to imagine life without. In conclusion, there were a lot of inventions that had a noticeable effect on economic science and technology, but without, computers people would not have been living in the world they are living in.