Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (For example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that community service should be compulsory for teenagers because the children benefit from it. While I concede that doing volunteer community works is beneficial to young children, I think it is unnecessary to make it required for all high school students. It is true that young people can benefit from unpaid community services. Firstly, social works such as improving the neighbourhood or taking care of the eldrely help youngsters develop a sense of community. They learn the importance of helping others, being friendly and assuming social responsibilities. Secondly, working in a group of social workers, the teenagers will have chances to develop social skills such as leadership and cooperation. The spirit and skills that they acquired prepare them for their adult life. Although such activities are good for high school students, it does not mean that schools have to make it a compulsory program. Students could acquire such good qualities from a variety of different activities. For example, children could develop leadership and team spirit from team sports such as football or basketball. They could learn to assume social responsibilities by attending a wide range of volunteer programs lunched by non government organizations. The youth should participate in social activities, but those activities do not necessarily confined in the community service programs held by schools. In conclusion, it is a good thing for young children to attend community service programs at school, but they can benefit from other social activities as well. Schools can let students choose the social work that they would like to join in, but not need make one certain program required.