You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

It is believed that there should be a course on the science of food and how to prepare meal taught at school. While some people argue that this course is wasting time and that time could be dedicated to learning another more essential subject. In my opinion, I think this subject is nice to have in school, but should not be the main focus of the curriculum. To begin, having students study the science of food could promote a healthier lifestyle, as students will have knowledge on what kind of food is bad and good for their health, and how they can complete their daily nutrition intake by preparing a healthy meal. Hence, the frequency of them choosing fast food will decrease, as a result, this will demote unhealthy consequences such as obesity. For example, a student knowing how easy it is to eat healthily will try to avoid junk food as much as they can. However, it is arguable that teaching student this subject in school is time-wasting since this skill could easily be learnt at home. Student should only just focus on the more general and important subjects at school such as Maths, Biology, or Physics, since not all students will be interested in this particular subject, thus causing them not to pay much attention to this course, leaving the course to be useless. For instance, a student having an interest in Engineering would not be too excited to attend this class, since he or she will think this subject will not help them in their college admission anyway. In conclusion, while the course on the science behind food can be eating up the slot on the already tight school curriculum, the knowledge of healthy meal is still beneficial. Therefore, it is recommended to have them in moderation, slipping it in between another related subject such as Biology or Chemistry.