In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

In some countries, especially in the UK, once an elderly person is aged, they usually go to live in a certain place where specialised people takes care of them such as nurses. Often this care centres are paid for by government or sometimes the family have to pay for it. Personally, I defend that each family have to take care of their own relatives. Firstly, taking care of an old person is not the main role for politicians neither this place sponsorship. In other words, imagine if mayors needed to save partially a city’s monthly income to pay for asylum centres. Furthermore, to be in this place, majority of people are retired and then, they already receive some amount of money from the government. Although this money might not be sufficient, it is not a matter for legal representants to deal with. They have other activities which certainly affects more people and have great influence on a bigger group. People need to account the government or family properly due to define better their responsibilities. Secondly, paying for those centres is one way to show responsibility and respect for those who need this place. In general, several people consider retirement the saddest part of life, because they feel abandoned by their families. Consequently, providing financial assistance is the minimal respect they can show to this relative. Besides the respectful behaviour, most of them do not need to rely on the government financially to provide this comfort. If everyone could think this way, government would be able to sponsor those who are in real need. Hence to conclude, I strongly believe that families need to take care of their own as long as they are able to do so. This behaviour shows respect and care to their relatives. Otherwise, they should rely on the government sponsorship.