Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Climate change is the greatest threat to the existence of life on earth. Some people, however, argue that instead of preventing it we should find a way to live with it. I completely disagree with this opinion, because I believe that we still have time to tackle this issue and reduce our impact on the climate of the earth. Global warming is the main cause of climate change. If both the people and the governments take appropriate actions, this can be controlled to a great extent. For example, governments should stop the generation of power from fossil fuels which cause more carbon emissions and increase global warming. Governments can also invest in green energy sources like wind, solar and hydropower. Another practical solution that the government can implement is to impose ‘green taxes’ on industries and vehicles which emit carbon. Individuals should also try to reduce their carbon footprint by limiting the use of private vehicles and consuming energy responsibly. Trying to live with climate change instead of preventing it is a dangerous idea because,in the near future, climate change will make our planet inhabitable. Because of global warming polar ice is melting causing sea levels to rise. When the sea levels rise coastal cities will get submerged in water. Let us not forget the fact that almost all major cities in the world are extremely close to seas and oceans. Climate change also leads to various natural calamities like cyclones, flooding and drought. To conclude, when there are so many ways to prevent climate change, I cannot agree with the argument that we should find a way to live with it. Climate change is threatening our very existence on this planet and it is high time we did something to tackle this alarming issue.