Some people believe that young people know about international pop and movie stars but knew very less about famous people from the history in their own country. Why is it? How can more interest be created in young people to gain more knowledge about their own famous people from history?

Some individuals opined that awareness in today's generation about their own national, historical heroes is comparatively lesser than they have for global celebrities related to pop music and films. Lesser publicity of the former along with the less priority given to the history subject is the root cause for this, which besides their solutions are discussed ahead. Little information about famous people from history is being spread. This is because most television channels and movies are focusing on singers and actors or actresses. There are even special channel subscriptions related to international music and culture taken by peers, whereas there are very few channels showing historical incidents. Consequently, the youngsters are not aware of their country's revolutionaries or rules but are filled with information if foreign pop music and stars. However, the same can be reduced if the national government provides financial support to producers to make films or TV series on the biopic of their own nation's heroes of the past. For instance, had the Bhagat Singh movie not been released in 2001, youngsters would not know about, how India got freedom from British rules. Besides having less publicity in media, there is less importance given to history subjects in academics. The reason behind the same is teachers are not concentrating on transferring proper knowledge to the children about the freedom fighters, and other past accidents; therefore, teenagers feel very less connected to their ancient culture and stories. This issue can be mitigated by modifying the curriculum and give much importance to history subjects along with documentaries should be played in classrooms to make history lecture more interesting. To exemplify, my son at age of 7 only knew about Mahatma Gandhi because he played a role in the school play in his history class. To recapitulate, this essay has covered two aspects: causes and solutions of more inclination of young dwellers towards the international opera and stars due to fewer mass media; less importance to history in schools; and ways to improve the interest and knowledge in youngsters regarding their own country's heroes.