In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes and measures that should be taken?

In some nations, although the percentage of serious crimes are declining people are more insecure than before. This essay argue that people still have memories of their previous occurrences stored in their minds and also easily accessible on internet making them fresh in their hearts. The suggested measures are that more seminars to be conducted by security personnel and having a transparent way of dealing with crimes through media. Many still feel unsafe even though there is a fall in serious crimes that is they are afraid of past experiences re-occurring again. No one desires to go through same painful situations due to crimes that occurred in their life because other may have lost their loved one's whom they can see again. Therefore, they tend to have fear of this cases happening again. Additionally, there are recorded videos on the internet of crimes happenings. Victims of these situations may be stressed or depressed due to watching these videos on the internet making them feel uncomfortable of what may happen. For example, a research of Dursit attack victim by citizen TV in Kenya shows most of them feel unsafe. Several measures are to be put in place that is more seminars should be conducted by the police to give hope to people. It is said what you feed your mind is the outcome you get, in other words, many feed their minds with fear and if police men can use the opportunity to give hope to them affirming them of their safety will bring a huge change. To add on this, there should be transparency through social media for victims to get justice. Stealing from someone makes one distracted from the course he was doing and thus these case proceedings should be live for people to see victims getting justice. For example, in Kenya in 2017 elections judges had a hard to administer justice because the whole country was watching them and by this they gave a fair judgement. In conclusion, in spite major crimes getting decreased in some nations, people are feeling quite unsafe compared to before. This is because of storing of previous crimes in their minds and being able to access past crime recordings on website. However, the possible solutions are more meetings with residents on matter security and fair judgement via social media.