In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work, some people regard this a completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. What are your opinion on this?

Recently, the debate on whether children can benefit from being engaged in paid work has been heated. As far as I am concern, whether students can reap the benefit from working depends on the impact it has on their studies. To begin with, certain types of paid work can help teenagers to be more responsible. For example, when children are paid for doing some housework, usually parents will check the quality of the work afterwards. Setting the standard for the work can let youngsters know that they need to do every job carefully and need to bear the consequence of their carelessness. By doing so, young people can have a clear understand of the meaning of rules and try their best to obey them. Therefore, students will also know the great cost of dropping their students, which may encourage them to study harder eventually. However, paid work can sometimes exploit the chance for children to study. To illustrate this, children in the third world do not have any choice but to work in order to make a living. Since the job they do is usually low-skilled, the experience they can gain from working is very limited. Moreover, they cannot attend school once they choose to work, which means their future careers will also be limited by working at present. To conclude, some paid job can help encourage students to work harder on studying, while others may bar youngsters from receiving education. As the impact that education can bring to students is long term, whether students can be beneficial from working should not be concluded by present capital earned only.