The crime rate nawadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advance technology which can prevent and solve crime. Do you agree or disagree?

In the past decades, numerous technologies have been developed to assist in the solving of crimes. Some people think that crime rates are falling due to such advancements. I agree in parts with this statement, as I am of the opinion that behavioural training also contributes to the decrease in the number of offences. Analysis of how sophisticated crime -solving tools stop potential violations of the law and the effectiveness of behavioural therapy in the prison setting will prove my point. Advanced technologies designed to prevent and solve crimes indeed help reduce the crime rate by anticipating and discouraging probable offences. Instruments such as security cameras or identification by fingerprints alert authorities to any suspicious individual, hence stopping damages to be caused in the first place. Moreover, with the knowledge of the technical capabilities of police forces, potential offenders will be deterred from making a transgression. For example, a person may decide against committing burglary knowing that he or she can be indicated by anything left at the scene whether it is a strand of hair or fingerprints. Therefore, advancements in forensic science certainly make contributions to the current decreased crime rate. Nevertheless, the role of behavioural adjustments in prisons should not be neglected. Behavioural therapy refers to the usage of rewards and punishments to modify the behaviours of offenders. This method has been shown to be the most effective among psychological procedures employed to reduce recidivism rates. For examples, in some guardhouses, positive actions are successfully motivated by repaying the felons with tokens that can be exchanged for practical benefits such as cigarettes or extra time during visits. That is to say, behavioural modification minimizes recidivism, hence reducing crime rates. In conclusion, as progress in the field of forensic science can prevent possible transgressions and behavioural therapy effectively control recidivism rates, I think both techniques have taken part in lowering the number of criminal cases. In the future, for society to be more ordered and secure, the two factors discussed above should be more invested in.