Science and technology have improved the standards of living in all over the world. Some people claim that the role of the arts has become insignificant. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, the living conditions have become superior, much of this can be attributed to the growth in sci-tech. There is a view that the significance of art is very less in the improved lifestyles of people across the globe. In my opinion science and technology has aided to a better level of comfort, while, arts and humanities still play an essential role in our lives. To begin with, technological changes have helped in uplifting the way of life to an extent. This is because, advances in STEM fields has resulted in increased productivity in the majority of the sectors like, communication, transportation and travel to mention a few, which have tremendously improved the socio-economic development of a country. For example, people who have access to technology are working from home via online platforms, this is a boon during the pandemic. In contrast, technology has led to something called 'creative destruction' making certain jobs obsolete and leaving many workers scrambling to make a living. As a result, it is possible to improve everyday life to an extent with the help of science and technology. However, there are many reasons why arts and humanities still play a significant role. The reason is there are many things the artists can teach us in the field scientists have failed to. For instance, a person can learn about harmony and joy by listening to music and learn about the values of life by reading good books. On the contrary, science cannot offer this because in the world of science and technology the true measure is whether something is working or not. Thus, intellectual achievements and principles still contribute to a better way of living in this scientifically evolved world. In conclusion, while it is still possible to state that technology has led to better ways to live, there are other ways like arts and humanities to lead a better lifestyle.