Some people say that to overcome traffic problem, underground tunnels should be built. What is your opinion?

Over the last few decades, traffic congestion has become one of the main issues big cities have to address in the most efficient way. Among the wide variety of possible solutions, many people tend to agree that subterranean channels are essential. Despite the fact there are still some drawbacks with this option, I strongly believe is an effective alternative to deal with overcrowded highways and should be seriously considered by any city which presents important delays in travelling time. To begin with, opponents to building underground tunnels claim that the total investment would be above the available funds of the city council. Consequently, tax rates would very likely skyrocket in order to cover the construction costs. Moreover, evidence suggests that while roadwork is being held, the vehicular density would become unbearable, boosting frustration and aggressiveness among drivers. Simultaneously, there would be an unavoidable impact on the environment and the risk of rising pollution to unhealthy levels. On the other hand, it is impossible to deny that having more options to move across the city would ease the stress on the freeways at peak hours. As a consequence, there would be not only happiest citizens, but also more room for public transport and eco-friendly vehicles on the surface. Finally, research has shown that massive construction projects have an enormous impact on unemployment rates and economic welfare. Overall, although building underground tunnels might generate uncomfortable feelings on a fraction of the population during a short period of time, looking at the big picture, the benefits for the whole community are much greater. Especially if local governments make an effort in mitigating possible tax adjustments.