It has been claimed that workers over 50 are not responsive to rapidly changing ideas in the modern workplace and that for this reason younger workers are to be preferred. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the way a business operates has changes drastically. As majority of the work is technology driven therefore changes happen frequently. If the employees are unable to adapt to such new circumstances, they would eventually be laid off since they would not be able to add up to the organisation’s growth. To begin with, at earlier times people used to carry out tasks manually which resulted in more time and money consumption. However, at present the operations are undertaken through technology, machines, artificial intelligence and much more. As a result of which the workers have to be updated with those various innovations. The younger generation is able to adapt to such kind of variations real time without putting much efforts whereas the long term employees, at times, face difficulties in getting used to those changes. Therefore, the companies prefer young employees over the older ones. For instance, a job which involves working in distinct circumstances and includes a lot of traveling would be more suitable for a young employee as he would have a healthy body and zeal in himself. On the contrary, it would be highly unjustified on the part of old aged workers if they are replaces just like that. The company should come up with alternatives such as staff training, enhance financial compensation to motivate the employees for taking over to changes. Moreover, if a company has just the younger employees then it would not have someone with huge experience who could guide them through. According to me, the companies should try to maintain balance in their employees proportion and bring some ideas and initiatives for their old and young employees which would result in overall benefit of everyone. Therefore, I partially agree with the topic. The younger generation is the future of a country and they should be guided in a right way by the older employees. On the other hand, the older generation should try to keep pace with the changes so that they can work hand in hand with the younger employees.