Some people think that planting trees in open spaces in cities and towns is more important than building houses. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some people assert that trees should be planted in all the available urban areas, while others argue that building houses should be a priority in modern society. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and explain my support of the former view. It is well known that green areas play a fundamental role in the city's ecosystem. There are many reasons to plant trees in urban areas. To start with, trees and greens generate oxygen through photosynthesis. Thus, the area with greenery will have clean air and oxygen. Additionally, trees help to deal with daily stress. For instance, people can have a picnic after a long working week and strike the balance between work and leisure being surrounded by birds, greenery and flowers. Consequently, individuals will be mentally healthy. Lastly, a town without trees would have only concrete and metal. The daily heat of the sun would dramatically increase the temperature. It would have a huge impact on citizens' physical and mental wellbeings. Alternatively, the demand for housing grows every year. Therefore, the negative drawbacks of building parks in the centre of the city should not be ignored. However, trees do not require much space. To illustrate, people can plant trees in their gardens, government officials can plant greeneries along the streets where it is impossible to build apartment blocks. This way, afforestation would not have any detrimental effects on the construction. To sum up, I would admit that building parks in the city centres are not beneficial. Rather than that, even small green areas have advantages on many levels.