Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

A significant number of corporate enterprises use sponsorship of sporting events as an advertising tool for themselves. Certain people believe that such activities bring an overall positive outcome in the form of economic growth and healthier community, while others view it to be a source of the widening wealth gap and reduced charity. On one hand, an increased advertising investment of organizations in sports results in the improvement of sports industry infrastructure, which creates several employment opportunities and eventually results in the growth of the economy. The countries such as UK, USA and Australia that have large number of companies which actively sponsor sports events, have notably lower unemployment percentage as compared to countries where this industry is not financially active. Additionally, the health benefits for a nation of an improved sports culture cannot be ignored. These sponsorships provide the community with facilities, such as stadiums, courts and sports equipment, which encourages youngsters to play competitive sports and strengthen their mind and body. On the other hand, the opponents of this concept are usually individuals of under-developed nations, who believe that corporate entities must take a socially-responsible position and cater the unprivileged instead of spending lavishly on sports and athletics. The inclination of companies on glamourizing the sports events often results in excessive accumulation of wealth in a few hands, thus widening the lifestyle gap. Additionally, it would be more beneficial for the masses if the corporations start diverting their advertising budgets towards direct charity contributions and use these activities as advertising tools for themselves. During the 2006 earthquake in Pakistan, Brighto Paints – a paint manufacturer - halted all their sports and arts contributions in order to maximize the funds to help the earthquake victims. This did not only result in providing timely medical attention to the injured, but also increased the company’s profit in the next quarter because of their improved social image. In conclusion, despite the fact that corporate investment in sports helps to reduce unemployment and improve public health, we must take into consideration the direct social and advertising benefits that can be obtained by utilizing these funds to help the poor. In my opinion, organizations should keep their balance more towards the direct charity instead of sponsoring fancy sports events.