More houses are needed in many countries to cope with increasing populations. Would it be better to build houses in existing towns and cities, or to develop new towns in rural areas?

It is true that the population is growing rapidly in many countries and eventually, more houses need to be constructed to satisfy accommodation needs. Meanwhile, countries are facing the issue of constructing houses inside existing cities or building new towns around city peripheries. In this essay, I will explain why building new shelters outside the city may be beneficial. On one hand, constructing high-rise apartment blocks in the towns may result in numerous issues. To start with, modern cities are already overpopulated, which means that the majority of the population is living in houses located inside the city. Consequently, the construction of new shelters can make cities more overcrowded. Secondly, governments should focus on developing businesses in the centre of the cities and towns, which would be beneficial for the economy and citizens. For instance, businesses would generate more employment opportunities. On the other hand, there are disadvantages for people living in suburbs. To illustrate, libraries, museums and other entertainments are generally located inside the metropolises. Additionally, commuting to work every day may be difficult without owning a car. However, a more feasible solution to this issue would be the development of mobility, which would make any destination accessible. Moreover, the countrysides are generally green, with clean air and oxygen. Raising children in such area would help to foster a mentally and physically healthy generation. In conclusion, I would concede that living in the countryside may have some drawbacks. Despite that, in the light of the aforementioned factors, I firmly believe that developing new towns in suburbs is would help to cope with the increasing population.