Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this contemporary world, people have become possible to travel around the world as they want. A certain proportion of people opine that this change just accelerates discord between nations, but does not enhance mature understanding. However, I strongly disagree with this opinion because the major purpose that people travel abroad is to understand different cultures and tourists have less influence on travelled countries. To begin with, the first reason why I disagree with this opinion is that people intend to know different cultures, and they do not aim to creates tension or discord between nations. In fact, tourists often visit cultural facilities such as museums. In Japan, temples and shrines are the most popular tourist attractions. They tend to not only visit such places, but also they learn the culture and the history behind temples and shrines. In addition, another major purpose of visitors who come to Japan is the food which is also related to culture deeply. Another reason why I believe international tourism dose not cause international friction is that foreign tourists have fewer influence on politics of travelled countries. In general, tourists stay other countries for short term. Research conducted by the travel agency in Japan reported that the Japanese tend to stay overseas for 3 to 10 days. It is almost impossible to affect other country's politics. In addition to this, politicians pay more attention to citizens than people from overseas. Hence, visitors will not have impact to create tension among nations. To conclude, I reiterate my complete disagreement to this opinion. This is because the biggest purpose of visitors is to understand different cultures, and they do not have such power that affects other country's government, since they stay very short term.