Society is becoming obsessed with material goods like fast cars, designer clothes and flashy jewellery. We have stopped caring about the important things that is why divorce rates are so high and family bonds are not as strong anymore; our value system is disintegrating. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, modernization has made people materialistic as they are more attracted towards luxury items instead of personal relations which has enlarged the differences in social relations and resulted into disharmony of society. I completely agree with this statement and will discuss why in this essay. Primary reason of loosening of family bonds is expensive extensiove use of social media. Individuals, these days, spend most of their time on social apps such as Facebook, Instagram and Whatsapp where they make fake profiles for impressing others; because of this, people try to nteract with the strangers having attractive portfolios and ignore their own real friends and family members. This is the main reason of divorces as the couples get allured towards people who pretend to be good online but are something else in actual. Also, everyone wants to capture attention of others on social platforms and in order to achieve this objective, individuals like flaunting their goods such as cars, clothes, jewellery, shoes and mobile phones so as to receive recognition from their peers. Greed for money is the secondary reason of people becoming selfish and apathetic. In this era, everybody wants to become rich and for this purpose, they choose to move away from their homes to metro cities for earning handsome amount. Consequently, they not only ignore their family members but also get detatched form their traditional and cultural values which creates a considerable gap among personal relationships. To conclude, fake image on social platforms, show off of personal belongings and craving of wealth has made community members more attracted towards things and has resulted into weak family bonds and degradation of society values.