Studies have shown that most criminals have low levels of education. Because of this many believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate prisoners so they can get a job after being released. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Prisoners have different level of educational backgrounds. There are some research which reports that most of the culprits do not have a sufficient level of education; therefore, they ought to be taught further in order to gain a better job after their prison term. I completely agree with the statement since this could prevent re-offence as well as enable to lead a comfortable life. This essay shall support my views in the following paragraph. First and foremost, by teaching some new courses, would provide an excellent opportunity to find an employment. In other words, since these wrongdoers lack of education, this may prevent them to be employable. If the situation had happened, they would re-offend to earn money to support both themselves and their family. In India, for instance, there some educational programmes are formulated to reintegrate the criminals back to society which was hugely successful. Thus, educating the offenders could bring a bright future for them Moreover, usually, those who committed crimes experience difficulties to find a work, the hardship can be doubled when they illiterate. As a result, it seems that they tend to end up doing illegal activities to secure money. By contrast, while in jail, enrolling on either degree or vocational course may highlight their profile when they seek a job after the sentence. Eventually, law-abiding citizens could have a peaceful and fearless life. To illustrate, Adu Jose, a notorious criminal from Kerala, now does a business, after getting educated during he was serving his jail term, so it is apparent that this initiative can be fruitful. In conclusion, assisting to get enrolled in school or college by culprits can make a dramatic change in their life. In my opinion, this is a great idea as this could dwindling number of re-offenders and a peaceful future for ex-convicts. It is vitally important to educate those who have been sentenced.