Write about the following topic. The internet has greatly increased our access to information. To what extent do you think this is a good thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Mobilephones and computers are ubiquitous these days. By sitting at one corner in the city we can get to know what is happening on the other end of the world. And how is this possible? It is through our modern internet technologies. Though this advancement in technology appears to be a boon, we need to watchout for the pitholes petioles. I will discuss the merits and demerits of our seemingly increased access to data in the following paragraphs. The Internet has consumed most of us. We are privileged people to have access to everything by a press of a button. Live news, daily weather forecast, political updates are some examples of technological advancement that has impacted us in a positive way. Any or most of these facilities were not available in olden days. People had to wait a day or two for newspapers to reach their homes. The Internet has also created a major impact in education where students can look into their grades online instead of visiting the college or university. It has also helped graduates to apply and prepare for their job interviews sitting at one place instead of visiting the libraries for reference books. Even though we can argue that increased access to data has mitigated our problems and made our lives easier, it is imperative to know the same has affected lives gravely. Access to personal data or leak of one's privacy is a punishable offense and one can be jailed for such behaviours. It is said that nearly 30% of crimes recorded by cybercrimes fall under data breach, morphing and misuse of personal data. Also bank frauds involved in phishing, password stealing, cyberbullying has also been encountered enormously these days. Attackers impersonate themselves as a different person to get access to the victim's personal data and once their target is achieved they use the details to steal money. To conclude, I feel though how much ever it excites us to live in a world of magic, the dark side of the internet is detrimental. It is always better to take precautions, protect our private data and be safe than to complain.