Some parents believe that cell phones are harmful to children while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A broad section of the society, these days, feels that use of smart phones is the need of the hour for students while an equally strong opposing lobby is of the opinion that cell phones have many adverse effects and therefore should be restricted from children. I reckon that this problem has to be judiciously addressed and there cannot be a one sided solution to it. Over the past decade, the use of cell phones has predominently shifted to surfing the internet for all sorts of study related material either for a project work or for routiene assignments. This exposure is quite helpful in making the younger generation technology savy and being at pace with the rest of the world. Due to the pandemic situation, most of the schools over the past one year, are operational online. Not only the classes and homework but also many more academic activities like debates, discussions, competitions etc. have now shifted to an online platform. In the current pandemic situation there is a remote possibility of any changes happening in near future. This makes the usage of mobile phone completeley not only unavoidable but also mandatory. On the flip side, students gain access to a lot of forbidden information and sites on the internet. If left unsupervised, most of them are often caught playing online games. Schools have also shifted to classes on zoom for more than five hours a day with very less break time in-between. Over exposure to the screen has escalated problems like eyesight issues, mood swings, behavioural problems, stress and anxiety related issues in youngsters. For example, the number of children visiting pediatric OPD over the last year due to weight related issues and eyesight concerns has gone up drastically. Lack of physical exercise and long sitting hours have added more fuel to the fire. To conclude, I would like to highlight, that the usage of mobile phones can be classified as a necessary evil. Parents have to play the role of watch dogs and monitory the content and duration of phone usage by their offsprings every day.