Some people believe that children should study world literature at school, while others believe that they should study their national literature. What is your opinion?

There is a debate whether children should study world literature or writings from national authors. While I admit that studying national literature can be beneficial for children, but I believe that studying world literature is more important. First of all, schoolchildren need to read the works of national writers in order to fully comprehend the overall situation of their country. Because every author reflects the dynamics of the place where they live, studying them will make adolescents more aware of their historical remains. National literature is the main way to pass over the cultural heritage, while teaching can preserve it for future generations. Also, studying the ideologies of their own literature is the chance to pursue national goal of the country which created by prominent writers of last centuries. On the other hand, studying written works from all over the world is the main tool which increases worldview of the children. It is world literature which enables them to see different perspectives, changes in the world around them. What makes it more important than national literature is the high quality of works written by well-known writers, which also affected the country’s literature as well. Many ideologies, thoughts can be studied through these writings, thereby improving various skills of schoolchildren. Another reason why children should be taught world literature is to make them get to know other countries’ culture, which will make them more informative. In conclusion, even though studying national literature can be important for children, world literature is much more crucial which needs to be studied. It creates chances for children to improve their understanding about the world.