Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Few individuals contend that volunteer social activities must be a mandatory component of the school curriculum including social welfare works to enhance the lifestyle or to educate juniors. This phenomenon has its own pros and cons but I believe that gains are far more than losses. To begin with, there are enormous positives of this development. Youngsters can practically implement the knowledge which they have sought in classrooms, and they will also learn many new things. For example, when they work in a team with colleagues, they will learn the importance of teamwork which would be very useful for their future endeavours. Furthermore, it is equally beneficial for society, as this will improve the overall standard of living such as the environment would become by their efforts and they help needy persons in their day-to-day chores. On the contrary, there a few drawbacks to the involvement of children in community services. First and foremost, this will be the wastage of their precious time which they can spend to improve their academic performances. For instance, if students indulge in social works; they might not be able to focus on their studies that would be a catastrophe for them. Secondly, this phenomena can lead to devastating consequences for the community as well, immature social workers can commit blunders during their jobs, to further illustrate, they can cause physical damage to already disabled persons because of no training in concerned fields. In conclusion, I think that even though forced community service by students can bring some issues, they can act as a big supporting hand to improve a community. The advantages of this approach have surpassed the disadvantages, so it is the need of the hour to involve students in community services under supervision.