Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweigh the advantages?

A widely heated debate regarding whether the merits of adding chemicals to food outweigh the demerits has received accumulating attention from the public. As for my perspective, I am opposed to the statement, and the reasons will be thoroughly elaborated on as follows. An array of factors might lead to why the chemical substance seems beneficial to food. First of all, some raw materials get rotted within a short period; as a result, the cuisine that people can enjoy will be far less diverse without the use of chemicals. For example, thanks to artificial chemicals added to the tomatoes and lettuce from the United States, McDonald’s is able to supply delicious meals in Taiwan. Secondly, consumers can buy groceries at a lower price, as chemicals are typically much cheaper than natural ingredients. In addition, manufacturers no longer face challenges in seasonal variation of natural materials, so they can produce their products more efficiently. On the other hand, in my opinion, the damage caused by chemicals in food overtakes the advantages. To begin with, individuals will suffer from chronic diseases if excessive amounts of chemicals are accumulated in their bodies. For instance, drinking a bottle of soda every day brings about higher risks of diabetes in early life because of the compound sugar mixed in it. Furthermore, during the process of manufacturing food, factories tend to release toxic substances into the environment, killing many species that live in nature. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, the shortcomings of adding chemicals to food outweigh the benefits due to the negative effects on humans and the damage to our Earth.