Many crimes are often related to the consumption of alcohol. Some people think that the best way to reduce crime rate is to ban alcohol. Do you think this is an effective measure against crime? What other solutions can you suggest?

Crime rates have been increasing exorbitantly these days, especially in rural areas. Most people say the raise is great because of human's addiction to liquor and that it should be banned. Though, in one way banning alcohol helps in reducing crime rates I think there are other factors contributing to the seemingly increase the same. News headlines and newspapers always talk about child rapes, molestations and harassments.It is agreeable that banning alcohol leads to no consumption but does not promise a crime-free environment. Even if alcohol is banned there is a high chance that people might divert themselves to other addictions like nicotine, narcotics, cocaines. It is true to an extent that when people are under alcohol or other drugs they commit such heinous crime underestimating the ramifications of it in the future. Drinking gives them the audacity to rob a place or rape a person which they would not do when in senses. Most criminals are not aware of the punishments they might get and feel extremely guilty after violating rules. It is only when putting them into rehabilitation centres,they feel the pain of their victims. Though all of the above is true, there are ways and means to curb the felonies from happening without banning products. One way is to increase alcohol prices heavily, where humans might not be able to afford it. Another way is to,educate the nation on the consequences of consuming drugs, they can be informed on how it affects a person physically and mentally. Youngsters can be taught the list of sections, laws and punishments in the country, preventing them from committing one. There is also a third way of imposing severe punishments on criminals like in Dubai, Saudi Arabia. Of all the three, I believe education is an effective measure to eradicate this issue. Countries like Sweden,Finland provide free education to all the citizens and it has resulted in reducing crimes to less than 5%, and made the countries free from thefts, robberies and murders. To conclude, I think banning drugs and booze contributes to reduce crimes at a minimal rate, whereas educating people would definitely make a huge impact. If we work together we can achieve to bring real independence to our country.