“For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important as the ability to read and write”. How far you agree with this suggestion? How important is it for a child to learn to play a musical instrument, in your view?

Some educational experts said that the capability to play a musical instrument is just as pivotal as the literate ability. However, it seems to me that playing music is actually less crucial than fundamental literacy, and I will interpret the reasons here. There is no doubt that mastering a skill of musical instrument aids children to foster their understanding about music, for instance, when a child plays Beethoven’s songs on the piano, they are able to feel the melody and also see how beautiful the rhythm is, rather than just know about the degree of prevalent of these songs. In addition, for children who are highly talented or have a great interest in music, the practice of playing a musical instrument can develop their musical talent. Nevertheless, such talents are quite scarce, not all children have a gift in music. Furthermore, it seems that the enjoyment and cultural values, which a child acquired from learning music cannot be compared to the merits of literacy. By comparison, the child’s literacy is a survival skill. This skill is essential because of the fact that it is the absorption of information and a guarantee of academic progress while playing music does not offer this security. For example, it is impossible for children to study Maths and Physics via the medium of music. This is why basic literacy is necessary for children to graduate from schools and look forward to their career path in the future. To conclude, I believe that children ’ reading and writing skills are more critical than their mastery of playing a musical instrument.