Nowadays people are spending more time away from home, because they spend longer time in their workplace. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages?

The trend of extended working hours far from home followed by many people is being observed these days. In my opinion, Its fruitful effect is related to the financial growth of a person along with the drawback of weak bonding in the family. The utmost advantage of being available at a job for a longer period is financial growth. If an individual is headed more into work, he/she can better mingle with the work environment, and definitely be able to not only improve his/her skills but also learn new ones. In this way, they can work efficiently for a longer duration with better skills. As wages are directly proportional to the number of working hours and responsibilities held by a person; it may lead to more earning which enhances their purchasing power. To exemplify, the University survey has shown that 80% of employees are working for a long time just to increase their income and fulfil their luxury needs. On the other hand, while we consider the repercussions of this scenario, it is a disturbance in their personal life. The key reason behind this is less time spent with family causes weak bonding among family members. In other words, there are more chances of conflicts with the partner or children, when they are not sharing their issues and spending quality time with each other. As a result, the person may undergo stress and anxiety, and even other mental health issues may occur such as depression. To add to this, psychological issues generate other physical health problems. For instance, had my friend spent more time with his family, he wouldn't have gone through a divorce and suffering from depression. In conclusion, I believe that the merit of working longer hours is financial growth whereas the demerit is disturbed family life of an individual.