Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is useful only for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Although some people think that television can be used as a tool to learn about something, others consider it is only for entertainment. This essay will discuss both ideas and explain why I think that it can be used for both but they should not only rely on TV programs to educate people. Many educational and meaningful broadcasts can be seen on TV and we can discover new knowledge. For instance, people can learn history from documentaries or learn different language by watching movies. It is quite valuable to watch documentaries as you can watch many of an actual images of things you are learning with detailed explanations, compared to only learning from books, which you can sometimes lose concentration and interest amid reading. Another example is learning language. English is my second language and I have been learning a lot of English vocabularies and western culture from films I have watched on TV. Conversely, there are many other ways and possibly more effective ways to be well-informed. It might be attending college or reading books voraciously. Take me as an example, when I would like to do some research, I use Google like most people do today. Undoubtedly, tremendous amount of information could be found on a screen in seconds, just by a click of button, resulting in huge cost cutting and time efficient. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that television is useful for both, learning and entertainment. We can gain knowledge from detailed documentary programs, that said, we should not only rely on broadcasts to be knowledgeable as certainly, human can learn things in multiple ways, especially nowadays, that is easier with the rapidly improving information technology that we can quickly access to.