Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to preoccupy themselves. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Childhood is the most formative period of one’s life and therefore, the question arises on what activities they should get engaged in to make the best use of their learning age. Few people opine that in their spare time they should engage in group activities like debate, playing in groups, however, others assert on the view that it is crucial for them to learn how to keep themselves busy in the productive activities on their own. This essay shall discuss both viewpoints in detail and will conclude on the same. To start with, there are various benefits of activities in group as it helps in developing various social and intellectual skills in them. Group activities includes participating in debate, working in team for projects or playing in groups and many more. Undoubtedly, such activities help in forming the base for them, wherein, they can develop various crucial skills like logical thinking, creative ideas and communication skills. Apart from cognitive skills, such activities also groom up their social skills as interaction in groups allow them to understand each other’s viewpoint and gradually they can start thinking from others perspective as well. For example, working for a science project in groups can make them to give a sense of working in a team and also learn from others. On the contrary, some people think that they should learn to keep themselves engrossed. Firstly, in such busy lifestyle parents do not have time to spend with their kids so oftenly, and it is not possible that children always find their friends and social circle around them. Therefore, it is necessary for them to know how to keep themselves busy and engaged. Secondly, they may develop habit of playing in groups only and if anyhow they don’t get such environment, then it will hamper their mental stability to such extent that it will get problematic for parents to handle. For instance, a child may not able to do anything on his own as he may develop habit of taking help of others always. To conclude, engagement in group activities in very beneficial in developing various crucial skills in them, however, this can also have some detrimental effects on their mental stability as they feel alone and isolated if they do not get their groups always. Hence, as per my opinion they should also learn to spend time on their own.