It seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. what are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Nowadays, the concept of examining the school children through exams, instead of a frequent assessment is becoming popular. While exams can prove very beneficial for evaluating a child's progress, this assessment method has some drawbacks too. As periodic exams are taken once or twice a year, students tend to take them seriously. Usually, they work hard to achieve a good score in them, unlike the casual attitude they may show towards regular evaluation. For instance, it is generally observed that most of the children prepare very sincerely for their annual exams and often turn up unprepared for regular tests. Also, it is more convenient for the school staff to hold annual exams, as it is a less hectic and more organized system of evaluation. On the other hand, Exams do have some negative aspects to them. Exams can create an environment of stress and pressure among the children. For example, some studentsmay find it difficult to perform well under pressure, despite being intelligent and well prepared, whereas assessments like class quizzes are less stressful and is a fun way to get analyzed. Moreover, judging an individual's knowledge only through exams is not efficient at all. To conclude, exams and regular assessment both have pros and cons in terms of evaluating an individual. Both methods should be included in the school curriculum and be used as per the convenience of the teachers as well as students.