“Do you think extra-curricular activities are important in a student’s life?” Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A student’s life comprises of many various things such studies, sports, and other extra activities. Other than studies, non-academic ventures play a vital role in complete development of a child. As we know, not all students are good in studies, these activities help them to discover their talents. In this essay, I will share my thoughts on the importance of extra-curricular activities in a student’s life. One major factor that a student should be encouraged to invest in extra-curricular activities is the enormous rise in the number of health issues amongst teenagers. The sedentary lifestyle has helped in the development of varied problems like obesity and depression resulting in lack of overall development in kids. According to different articles, during lockdown when kids were not allowed to go out and spend time with their friends or on their passion. Kids suffered from issues such as being overweight, having less concentration, and poor eyesight as all they were left with studies and maximum screen time. Moreover, there are many students who are not academically successful. Participating in different activities not only gives kids a great opportunity to unravel their hidden talents but also, helps in the development of different skills such as team building, time management, etc. For example, MS Dhoni, the former Indian cricket team caption was always an average student yet earned a lot of fame as he followed his passion seriously. Furthermore, I agree with the fact that these activities are very important as students. It is undeniable that a child's participation in these activities adds different advantages in their overall development helping them find the right career path.