Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is the case? What can be done to attract local people?

Nowadays, international travel has become popular worldwide. While many tourist attractions, such as museums and historical sites are visited by tourists, inhabitants hardly visit. In this essay, I am going to discuss the cause behind this problem and examine possible ways to address it. To begin with, there are two reasons behind this. Firstly, museums and historical sites are too crowded for residents to visit. For example, Musse du Louvre was visited by more than 100 million visitors in 2018, and almost half of them were aiming tourism. Thus there was a queue of around 300 meters outside of the museum, and visitors needed to wait for more than one hour. In addition to this, members of local communities tend not to be interested in local facilities, since they do not enough knowledge about them. On top of that, there are two possible ways to encourage inhabitants to go to cultual places, including historical sites. At first, making the better environment that community people are able to go to such places. For instance, deciding the residents only dates may help to ease the confusion. Similarly, giving native people a free pass might work to encourage them to to there. In addition to this, authorities have better provide the historical education that is related to facilities and organize a tour to familiarize citizens with museums. To conclude, there are two possible causes of this problem which are that such facilities are too crowded by tourist, and citizens have fewer interests on them. To solve this problem, authorities should enhance natives to go there, and improve their understanding on their hometown.