Some people argue that the government should spend money only on medical care and education but not on theaters or sports stadiums. Do you agree or disagree?

Public spending has always been controversial, should we keep them at a bare minimum, or should we extend them to most of public infrastructures? I believe governments should finance primary and heavy infrastructures and encourage public-private partnerships whenever possible. Indeed, safety, health and education are the foundation of a healthy and thriving society and no private interests must have the potential to undermine it or speculate on such important matters. Everyone should have access to a good health system and be able to gain a proper education whatever their incomes are. However, I have a more contrasted opinion regarding the other aspects of life in community. I think that once our primary needs are fulfilled, secondary ones are more subject to personal preferences and therefore it becomes controversial. In an ideal world, governments would have the ability to finance all the desired infrastructures to accommodate every tastes. But in reality, publics funds are limited, and choices have to be made. It is why these funds should be invested parsimoniously and governments should incitate initiate and promote partnerships with private actors. Such joint ventures allow the alliance of public power and private initiative with shared responsibilities. TO sum up, governments should be the only providers of services related to our primary needs. They should provide us with a safety net and give us the right knowledge to become informed citizens and skilled workers. Public institutions should also be involved in other investments, but they have to give enough space to private initiatives and innovation.