People living in large cities today face many problems in their everyday life. What are these problems? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller regional towns?

In today’s life, the fast development of big cities has been bringing on many intractable problems for city-dwellers. From my perspective, mental health and traffic trams are the two most noticeable ones. Although it is suggested that the authorities ought to incentivize citizens to migrate to smaller regional towns as a panacea for burning issues in large cities, I suppose that this measure would be efficacious. The rapidly economic development of big cities has resulted in psychological problems and increasing popular size. As for the former, this gives rise to the reality that nowadays, a large number of city-dwellers have to deal with the heavy and workload from their study and work, rendering them drained and in the long term, they may feel stressed and depressed. The fact has been proved that there have been many people suffering from these negative emotions, affecting negatively their mental health. As for the latter, due to the accelerating influx of inhabitants migrating to large cities, citizens are faced with traffic congestion and undoubtedly, the endeavour to get through traffic make them extremely irksome. Besides that, one might argue that the authority should encourage residents residing in cities to settle in smaller towns and this is a wise proposal due to the following reasons. If a considerable figure of people living in large cities moved to suburban areas, this flow of migration would reduce huge pressure on the government in addressing the housing problem. Since when residential areas are expanded, the likelihood of meeting the city-dwellers demand for housing will be possible. In addition, the air pollution might be partly solved because the more inhabitants do not reside in cities, the lesser amount of exhaust fumes from vehicles’ engines would be released into the atmosphere. As a result, the air pollution in large cities will become less severe. In conclusion, although it is difficult to curb issues in big cities, I strongly believe that governments should incentivize citizens to settle in smaller towns as an alternative solution.