Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Some people tend to purchase expensive products even though they do not need them, as a result they find themselves in heavy debt at the end. There are some reasons and solutions for this issue which I have explained in this essay. One of the main reason for unnecessary expenses is a lack of planning. Due to the unending needs of humanity, it is difficult to curtail what is actually needed without a plan which prioritizes the items needed. One way to tackle this is making lists of their needs to ensure they do not deviate from buying what is not listed, this makes them spend more wisely as well as track their budget. Another obvious reason for this is TV advertisements. It is crystal clear that TV advertisements have an unremarkable impact on an individual’s life. Grabbing people’s attention with glamorous commercials lead them to buy unnecessary products. To tackle this, I believe the government should provide educational programmes and commercials in order to encourage people to feel satisfied with what they can afford to buy without splurging on unnecessary things. Also, credit cards provide consumers the opportunity to spend more than they can afford as they encourage individuals to embrace ((spend today, pay tomorrow)) philosophy. This can be prevented to some extent by keeping a record on income and monthly spendings which give the consumer an overall image of their budget. To sum up, though glamorous advertisements, lack of planning and credit cards encourage people to attempt buying useless or unnecessary things, all of this can be kept in check through proper financial planning.