Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal questions such as their hobbies and interest, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Discuss both side and give your opinion.

Nowadays, it becomes a trend for asking for personal information in an interview such as an employee's hobby, interest and marital status. Some individual see these as useful questions to ask. While others and I believe that this type of information is irrelevant. This assignment indeed describes both perspectives. Many people in favour of asking personal questions in employees hiring process. Proponents of this view suggest that this will help the hiring department for seeking the best people for their company. Questions like hobby and interest tell a lot of detail about a person. For instance, if an individual plays multiple instruments then he/she is a multitasking person and this will use in project management, where an employee needs different things at a time. In fact, a recent study in America told that people who play video games are very quick in making a decision that will help in the fire department and others services that involve sharp movement. However, others, including myself think that companies should not choose employees on the basis of these questions. Sometimes, people feel different in personal and professional life. Many youngsters are lazy and mostly spend their time on a smartphone. When they do some physical activity then they work as a very energetic person. For example, in an interview, a young adult does not have any hobby or interest in their life. However, their skill of solving a problem in computer software is extraordinary. If an employer rejects him/her on the basis of their lazy and non-interesting personality then it is a great loss for a company. In conclusion, asking a personal question is not telling the full information about a person. Employers should ask about their need, what position they need an employee and asking question according to this. That will help to find a suitable person for their job.