Some people believe governments should spend money in saving languages of few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People these days discuss what are the proper projects that governments should provide funds to. Some think it makes sense for governments to spare some effort in protecting languages that minority people speak, while others believe we have better topics to use the money from taxpayers. On the one hand, governments should provide funding to save languages that are threatened to extinct because languages play an important role in the corresponding culture. As a matter of fact, language reflects the way local dwellers think in, therefore with these languages it is easier for visitors and scholars from the outside to better understand the logical flow of this specific group of people. Also some interesting traditions are recorded and passed among group members via local languages and may also face the challenge of dying out if the language doesn't exist any longer. Meanwhile, the languages of the minority also give them a sense of belonging and make them feel less isolated. Therefore, they may spend more time and energy considering contributions they can make to society instead of being anxious about losing their identity. On the other hand, there are multiple other aspects that need governments ' financial support. In fact, nowadays we are still facing risks posed by poverty, unemployment, crime and so on. It requires governments to spend a great amount of money to solve any of these social problems. For example, there are increasing hunger issues as a result of the growing population in less developed areas. One of the efficient methods to tackle this problem is genetically modified food but government entities should invest more in thoroughly researching this technology before putting it into use. In my opinion, although we still have a variety of other problems in our society, it is still worthwhile to spend some money on saving the languages that minority people speak.