Some think that private companies and individuals should pay for cleaning up pollution, while others say it is the government’s responsibility. Discuss and state your own opinion.

As economies develop and population grow, certain areas become polluted, which adversely affects the environment and the ecosystem as a whole. While everyone agrees that pollution is a serious threat, many argue who should take the responsibility to clean up: the government or private companies. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument. On the one hand, it is true that the governments - in theory - are responsible to ensure that laws and regulations are upheld. As some areas in countries already have environmental laws some businesses still don't follow them. Therefore it is the government's responsibility to find the businesses that do not follow the regulations. On the other hand, companies and individuals should be responsible to pay for their threat to ecology. Private businesses should be conscious of their actions and their effect on the ecosystem. For example, groceries can go green by replacing plastic bags with paper bags. Individuals can boycott the products of companies known to pollute. Overall, I strongly believe that those who polluted should be charged and be responsible to return the environment to its natural state, but businesses will not do it unless the central power doesn't force them. As it is the government's role to ensure that laws and regulations are enforced and individuals who damage and destroy the environment for their personal benefits are severely punished for their environmental irresponsibility.