The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that modern people are likely to purchase goods online with the accessible Internet, therefore, some people argue that shopping malls will no longer exist in the future. However, I totally disagree with their opinion due to the following reasons. What must be prioritized is that by having various shops in cities, the government and citizens harvest benefits in terms of economic growth. To be more specific, it is numerous stores in shopping malls and streets that contribute the huge taxes of land, human resource and profit to the government. By contrast, such an amount of tax money will be decreased drastically if all shops are closed because online stores reduce their tax by involving less labour and space. Besides, physical stores provide more job opportunities to citizens, which leads to overall economic stability and prosperity for society. From these perspectives, I believe that the government will allocate a budget in maintaining traditional stores to ensure employment for local people. Thus, all shops in cities are unlikely to disappear in the future despite the increasing popularity of online shopping. What should be equally mentioned is that buying necessities in brick-and-mortar stores put citizens as beneficiaries due to its contribution to interpersonal relationships and practical usage. Never can we ignore the importance of purchasing items in stores with your families and friends, which serves as an indispensable bonding activity in contemporary life. Moreover, only by visiting these traditional stores, compared with buying things online, can people get a better shopping experience. For instance, residents can try on the clothes, shoes and bags, check their quality and find the proper size for themselves in physical stores, which is unable to achieve in online shopping. In addition, the immediate and patient service provided by staff in the physical store, as well as the fancy decorations of these stores make customers feel relaxed and pleased when they are shopping. Therefore, people still will visit the shopping malls with their loved ones even if more and more online shops are available. In conclusion, although online shopping is a feasible way to get the goods that are indispensable in people ’s daily life, the advantages of physical stores in towns, which is beneficial for government and citizens, cannot be ignored and replaced by online shops. So, I truly believe that physical shops still plays a significant role in people ’s lives and hence will not be replaced completely by online shops.