If countries are serious about solving traffic problems, they should tax private cars heavily and use the money to provide free or very cheap rail travel. To what extent do you agree?

In recent years, traffic has increased manifold. Every nation is trying to deal with this problem in one way or the other. Some believe that by charging high tax on private vehicles and eventually developing railways would help solve this issue. I strongly disagree with this view as justified in the following paragraphs. To begin with, to manage traffic adequately the officials should penalize the defaulters substantially who break the rules. For instance, according to a study, more than 50 per cent of the traffic offences occur due to overspeeding and drunk driving. Hence, instead of imposing hefty duty on the purchase of cars, focus should be more on standardizing the drivers. Furthermore, the organisations can promote carpooling as a result of which not only traffic would be curtailed but resources would be saved as well such as less fuel usage. In addition to above, public transport is not accessible in every part of the territory. Therefore, if people do not own a car, then in case of an emergency they could face serious consequences. To exemplify, if a person gets a heart stroke and no automobile is available, it would be no less than a dreadful situation. In my view, the authorities can adopt other alternative as mentioned above rather than demanding significant tariff on motors. Moreover, not everyone is comfortable in travelling in metros therefore, government should not point blank ignore them and make such dictative dictate policies. To conclude, traffic is a crucial complication as it causes wastage of resources and time. The public should be made aware of the after effects of traffic mismanagement. Nevertheless, owning a car is prominent for folks.