Nowadays more and more older people who need employment have to compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are the solutions?

An increasing number of old age people needing employment in recent times are competing with young people for the same positions, resulting in problems like older people having fewer working options, doing jobs which are not suitable for their age or being exploited at work. This essay will further discuss these problems with possible solutions. On the one hand, one problem is that there are lesser job options for older people in the market. Huge technological advancements in the last decade have created a challenging work environment worldwide, which has created difficulties for older people as they are unable to cope up. Due to this, they are naturally not suitable for positions which require working with modern equipment. Secondly, the older generation is pushed into doing odd jobs which are not suitable for their age and are physically stressful. As most of the jobs nowadays need modern diplomas and certification, older people have no option but to do jobs that require manual labour. Thirdly, old people are more prone to exploitation at work and might face financial difficulties. On the other hand, one way to resolve the issue is that government should make coaching centres for older people to teach them the basics of modern tech to give them a push start in the job market. This will get them to familiarize themselves with advanced computers and programs required at most of the current day organizations. Another possible solution is that government should devise a method to enlist old people and help them secure suitable jobs. Finding a job at old age can be a difficult task, a proper channel where older people can be listed and forwarded to potential employers would make it easier to get a job. Moreover, organizations should allocate old age job quotas to accommodate older citizens for suitable roles to help solve this issue. In conclusion, there are some drawbacks of older people having to compete with the younger generation for similar jobs but empowering them with certificates, helping them with securing jobs and allocating old age quotas would help reduce the problems.